Don’t Give Your Heart to a China Doll

With skin so delicate and cheeks so rosy, you had “touch me” written all over you.  Your broken smile could cure the sun and the moon and all the stars with just one glance.  Your sweet, porcelain face made you look untainted to the core, as innocent as a child riding their bike home from school.  I wasn’t one who could love easily, to trust easily, but you see, you had “touch me” written all over you.  So, I gave in.

I returned you a brighter smile, one so radiant that I hoped it could cure the sun and the moon and all the stars and you.  A smile so brilliant that it could fix your broken one.  I wanted to repair you.  I wanted to help you because you had “touch me” written all over you and looked as faultless as a puppy dog- a puppy dog that I just couldn’t resist petting.  But that was okay; I wanted to be the kind of person who could love, so I did.

I loved you.  I cured your broken smile.  I wished for your love in return, but what I didn’t expect was to end up with a broken smile of my own.  You see, I loved you so much that I fixed you; I gave you a piece of my smile but got nothing in return. You were finally whole, but I was left more damaged than you were at the start. You had “touch me” written all over you, but when I did, I just got cut. Your embrace gashed a hole in my heart, and I bled out until there was no more blood left for my heart to pump.

Don’t give your heart to a china doll, it will shatter. 

s.b.

 

 

Leave a Reply

