Under His Nose

There once was a man

who loved me dearly

and told me so everyday

He didn’t mean

to break my heart

even though it ended up that way

One day he told me

as he grabbed my wrist

to never wear my heart on my sleeve

He said if I did

it would be quite a risk

and I could fall to the ground like autumn leaves

And with such certainty

he pulled me close

and held my heart in his hand

He said it would

be safer there

it’d be like he’s guarding the promised land

But with every beat

my heart would pulse

and struggle in his grip

And his every grasp

just stopped the blood

from flowing to my fingertips

He thought he was protecting me

by guarding me so close

but all I really wanted

was out from under his nose

s.b.

Leave a Reply

